2020 Student Academy Award Finalist, Rodrigo Chapoy, on Animation Short Film, “Bear With Me”

jodymichelle

Staff member

Grizzly Character Exploration, Bear With Me

STUDENTFILMMAKERS: Can you tell us about the development and pre-production stages?

Rodrigo Chapoy:
The pre-production stages were really rough and messy. “Bear With Me” was born out of the need to tell a story that would be personal, and that I cared for. I’ve been in a long-distance relationship for the time I studied at Ringling and felt I had to make this film for my love and all the couples that can’t be together in the most meaningful moments. This is how “Bear With Me” saw the light of day.

Drawings, Environment, Animation Short Film, Bear With Me

It’s funny to actually look back and see the idea I pitched in my Pre-Production class. It was a love story between a grizzly bear who had to hibernate and a bird who eventually would need to migrate, so time was definitely a problem. It made total sense at that time, but revision after revision turned the bird into a grizzly, then to a panda, and finally, into a polar bear. I remember I would come to class every time with a different story completely boarded out. We are talking about around 100 drawings each class, exploring different stories and character arcs. I knew I didn’t want to settle for a slapstick, but instead, I wanted this to express what I felt in my relationship, so I kept doing iterations. With the help of my classmates and teachers, “Bear With Me” finally became what it is now.

Grizzly Character Exploration